What's the Best Hot Tub

Hot Tub Review

Artic Spas
Manufacturer: Arctic spas

(Based on 14 reviews)
Avg. Price: $9371

Reviews: 1 - 14 of 14   View as Outline Post Review
Avoid
Jun 8, 2017 6:57 am
nocallaghan


I bought an arctic spa x-display model, with 1 years parts and labour warranty in the UK, 3.5 months afterwards it developed a fault with the shell peeling away.

They refused to honour the warranty and stated it the shell was damaged before they dispatched it and therefore excluded it from any warranty.

I have had to constantly chase them, they do not respond to emails, they are not interested in customer service at all.

They are now trying to worm out of the warranty and the sale of the spa, I would tell anyone wanting to buy an arctic spa, go elsewhere, other spa companies have much better after sales service.

Date Purchased: 01/2017
Price Paid: $15000
Recommend: No


Not Recommended at all.
Aug 4, 2016 2:16 pm
RBL


We've owned a Arctic Spa now for 4 years. Not a single year has gone by without a service call. The straw that broke the camels back was Arctic Spa issuing defective firmware which made my spa inoperative and then have the balls to charge for a service call.

I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND ARCTIC SPA products or the company !

Date Purchased: Fall 2012
Price Paid: $10000
Recommend: No


Horrible Company
Sep 19, 2015 9:45 pm
KMS


DO NOT buy an Arctic Spa tub no matter which dealer is selling it. This company does not stand behind its product. Their customer service reps are rude and obnoxious. We have had nothing but problems with a tub that was purchased in 2010. Now that we are forced to buy replacement parts we are finding even these don't work properly! Instead of taking care of the problem they have pushed it back on the certified Arctic Spa repairman. But they can't seem to tell us what the repairman did wrong while insisting that their product is actually working correctly even though we and the repairman are both very clear that there is a problem.
I won't bore you with the many details of our sad association with this company. Suffice it to say that YOU SHOULD NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES BUY ANYTHING FROM ARCTIC SPA. THEY ARE TERRIBLE.


Date Purchased: 2010
Price Paid: $8500
Recommend: No
Cons:
Customer Service is non existent.
Had it 5 years and the heater died, the salt system died, and the pump died.
There is a choice of 1 repairman in our area and it's very expensive.
Any warranty work that is covered, the customer still has to pay for a "trip charge" of $150 and shipping of whatever part that is bad.


Best Built Spa for Canadian Climates
Sep 9, 2015 12:25 pm
srtorelli
*


This is my second Arctic Spa, left the first one with the old house. Have had this one for about 4 years now, never had a problem. My local dealer is amazing and always takes care of me! We have never had any issues with the spa, taking care of your water chemistry is the biggest thing when it comes to the life span of your tub.

Date Purchased: 11/2011
Price Paid: $12500
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
Canadian Made
Lots of jet power
Salt Water



DON'T BUY AN ARTIC!!
Jul 26, 2015 2:02 pm
crispyy


I bought an Artic hot tub years ago and I have nothing but problems. So far, the mother board has gone bad three, 3 times. The heater has been replaced twice and now my motor has just went out. Not to mention all the jets just float around the tub because they won't stay in their holes anymore. So, at this point I have an $8000 piece of plastic that the company won't help or take any responsibility for selling me a brand new pile of junk. The ONLY good thing about an Artic spa is not to own one!

Date Purchased: 06/2008
Price Paid: $8000
Recommend: No
Pros:
It doesn't inflate my electric bill anymore because it's unplugged!!

Cons:
EVERYTHING!! From the quality of the product to customer service. It's all just a bad deal and a waist of your money!


Not a very good spa
Sep 20, 2014 1:04 pm
quinnnere


This is not a very good hot tub, it is prone to breakdowns and is not very well serviced.

Date Purchased: 06/2014
Price Paid: $15000
Recommend: No
Pros:
The overall all philosophy behind the design of the hot tub seemed very sound and was the fundamental reason for our purchase. We liked the jet style and the seating layout.

Cons:
a) Maintaining water quality with the ozonator and filtration system not maintaining proper cycles.
b) Recurring FLC error codes.
c) Lighting system not working.
d) Options that we paid for (sound system) was not installed on our unit when it arrived.
e) Service calls are not timely and technicians have a low level of product knowledge.


Very Satisfied
May 1, 2013 4:24 pm
admin
*****


great spa. built to last a long time

Date Purchased: 02/2005
Price Paid: $8000
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
High Quality..built to last

Cons:
waterway jets pop out easy


This message was modified May 1, 2013 by
Arctic Fox
Apr 10, 2013 3:46 pm
britjunkie


As others have stated, I bought it because of the assurance of quality.
First, maybe it works if you live above the Arctic Circle, but in the mountains of Utah it overheats internally. Arctic knows of the problem, and after an attempt to get a remedy from the factory, I was told to leave a panel off the tub in the summer! Yeah, little kids and skunks love this idea. They now offer some sort of shutter system, Do I get it, of course not unless I pay for their obviously defective design.
I'm not going to bore you with all the things that have gone wrong in 5 years of ownership, but I'm now Mr. Hot tub around my house, can't let the dealer's "tech" people near the tub unless I just want more trouble and bigger bills. I think the whole industry needs oversight. These tubs ain't cheap, and they are of remarkably poor quality, and I don't just mean Arctic.

Date Purchased: 5/08
Price Paid: $8000
Recommend: No
Pros:
It's better than the last brand I owned, if you can believe it!

Cons:
If my wife didn't need it due to her physical issues, I wouldn't have any of them. Second pump just rebuilt, second heater just replaced.


Arctic Spa Hot Tub
Sep 14, 2012 8:24 pm
Edit Edit
Guest

Well what can I say..I have a Arctic Spa hot tub and the surface acrylic is all cracking up. I was told how good this product is by the salesman but clearly he was not truth full. I would not recommend an Arctic Spa tub.

Date Purchased: 09 2006
Price Paid: $8000
Recommend: No
Cons:
The product is not long lasting.


2 man Mesa
Jul 21, 2012 11:36 pm
Edit Edit
Guest

Run the other way! Sales person said it was plug n play. Its not. They also said its a 2 person tub...its not. It overflows with the amount of water needed to NOT get a flow error. (loud sucking noise-no air) It will hold 1 regular size person and the water still is up to your chin. Its a terrible design and should be taken off the market. Buyer beware!

Date Purchased: july 2012
Price Paid: $3400
Recommend: No
Pros:
compact, easy to clean

Cons:
Will only fit 1 regular size person, filter basket is too low so it overflows with 2, not plug and play, pump is weak...there's nothing good about this tub.


This message was modified Jul 21, 2012 by
Arctic Spa Summit
Mar 2, 2012 9:49 pm
Edit Edit
Guest

When I was looking for a hot tub, I spent a lot of time on the internet looking for reviews, etc., so that is why I am taking the time to post this review. Have had my Arctic Spa for just about two years now - purchased May 2010. BEST decision ever. This is one "TOY" I will never regret buying. Total cost was around $13,000. Upgraded to the ozone technology - worth it. Light package - love it. Considered the salt water generator - dealer wasn't behind it, YET. He's waiting for them to fine tune the process - still was concerned with it affecting jets, pumps. When he's sure, then I think I will proceed with that as well. Power consumption really isn't a big issue. Only change water one to two times max per year - ozone makes the difference, plus there is only two in our household, and one doesn't use it hardly at all.

Date Purchased: May 2010
Price Paid: $13000
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
everything - love the seating plan of the Summit model - 3 large armchairs and one lounge area; great jets; led lights; one waterfall; simplicity of chemicals - dealer is great although I only have had to bug him once - in first month one light needed replaced. We get to minus 30 and minus 40 celsius, and no problem. I don't usually go out then, but have gone out frequently at -20. We upgraded our deck - above ground; reinforced obviously, and the hot tub is on the deck, right outside my french doors. LOVE it.

Cons:
can't think of any yet - honestly.


This message was modified Mar 2, 2012 by
Arctic Spa Tundra Extreme
Feb 17, 2006 11:32 pm
wmccall
*****


I done alot of research on spa's before I purchased an Arctic Spa. I was told and believed that I was getting what I paid for. I bought in on the quality talk and the ease of access to all the pumps underneath the spa. Little did I know that in 90 day's of ownership that I would have 4 different leaks, a pump replaced, a check valve to the ozanator gone bad and the ozanator itself go bad. Did I mention the stero system? I has never worked correctly, 4 out of 6 speakers are bad but you know what they are ordered. Thus far I have 6 speakers on order for the stero, a check valve for the ozanator, and a ozone system. I was told that all of these things are MINOR problems. Minor? If you watch there video they preach quality, ease of access, You will need ease of access to all the pumps and items because they will break. I have had all 8 doors on my spa off so much that the plastic screws are either stripped or they have broken off. Oh yeah, they have been ordered. I am in the process of getting this piece of junk off my deck, I have had enough. I bought a spa to relax and enjoy. How can you enjoy something when you invested $12,800 in it so you would'nt have the problems and every other week you are on the phone with a different or same problem. Come on, who wants something with this many problems. Minor? A leak is a leak is a leak in a spa, it just should'nt happen if all you preach is how much better your spa is than everyone else's. Can anyone say Action 9. the local investigative reporter? I can.

Date Purchased: 11/2005
Price Paid: $12800
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
Many Option's, but you have to pay

Cons:
Had the spa for 90 days and have had12 service problems with this spa.


Way overpriced.
Jan 1, 2004 9:48 pm
wmccall
*****


Arctic should be between 3,000 and 7,000 dollars.
It is a mediocre spa at best.

Date Purchased:
Price Paid: $0
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
Solid construction.

Cons:
Way overpriced.


Arctic is quality
Oct 5, 2003 11:23 pm
wmccall
*****


After months of looking and researching we where able to look at the Arctic models, and we liked what we saw. Hand laid fiberglass tub with a lifetime warranty. Fully insulated with a void space for better insulation, and easy to get to plumbing. There are not as many jets as in other tubs, but I understand that you can add jets later with just a little instalation. Jets are interchangable and with both pumps running there is plenty of power. The cover on the tub is heavy duty and is not suppose to retain moisture as is a common problem with other covers. Comes only with a cedar cabinet, which looks great.Arctic is a Canadian company and are starting to branch into the US which makes finding one hard, but it makes getting a deal on one great. Take a look if their in your area, We love ares and are happy to own one.

Date Purchased: Sept./2003
Price Paid: $9000
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
Solidly built, with one of the best warranties. Multi level seating.
Several jet packages to choose from.

Cons:
Some seats do not have jets.
Everything thing is extra.
Limited showrooms.


More Information
Help Help
Member List Member List
Moderator List Moderator List
Home    Buying Guide    Featured Products    Forums    Reviews    About    Contact   
Copyright ©1998-2020, Whats The Best, Inc. All rights reserved. Site by Take 42