What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Ozone Check Valves  (Read 6731 times)

tony

• Ultimate Member
  • 2002 Optima
Ozone Check Valves
« on: August 04, 2005, 04:44:29 pm »
My ozonator check valve needs replacing about every three months.  It is a SD Sunzone CD unit, three years old.  I have tried Sundance check valves, HotSpring check valves and just tried another brand.  All with the same result.  Anyone have any ideas?

Hot Tub Forum

Ozone Check Valves
« on: August 04, 2005, 04:44:29 pm »

Snuggles

Re: Ozone Check Valves
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2005, 05:05:01 pm »
I just had to replace mine on a 1.5 year old Jacuzzi J330. I think it's due to sediment or sand being brought into the tub. I'm not an expert but that's my guess since the old ones when it went bad had mucho grit. I have paving stone patio set with sand surrounding the tub. Since then I place a pan for washing feet before entry. If anything it should help the diverter valve from getting scratched internally and causing it to stick since that was also a problem. So far so good. Good Luck.  

tony

• Ultimate Member
  • 2002 Optima
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2005, 05:13:11 pm »
Thanks for the reply.  My spa sits in a deck and gets very little grit or sand.  It almost seems like a chemistry problem, but my water is almost always in balance and I don't believe water normally interacts with the check valve itself.  Could it be the ozone itself deteriorating the mechanism?

leesweet

• '05 SD Maxxus
« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2005, 05:24:16 pm »
I was wondering myself how sand would get into the check valve plumbing to wear it out that much... I can see sand hurting water flow in the diverter areas, for sure, since water is recirculated there all the time.