What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: How do you value a dealer & what is a fair price?  (Read 3336 times)

J._McD

How do you value a dealer & what is a fair price?
« on: April 09, 2005, 03:40:20 pm »
I am relatively new to the open forum and have followed several threads over the past month or so before logging in.  I have found them to be very interesting and insightful, even humorous and upsetting.  I have been enlightened by shoppers, owners, dealers and technicians, and have been impressed by everyone’s willingness to share information to help others.  

I read about the buyer who got a really “great deal” only to find out where they were shipping it to wouldn’t service it, and then finds out the price at the store is $2,200 cheaper.  I have read comments about how people want a lower price like, someone says they paid and I read about the buyers who pays too little, gets the short end of the stick and complains about the industry and the people in it.

I know this is an ambiguous question, but what is a fair profit margin to support a hot tub business that just sells hot tubs and provides everything to take care of his customers and their service needs?  With the price of gas as it is today, should he charge for service or for a trip charge to get there or should everything be included in the price you pay for the hot tub?  Should service be free when gas is not?

I know furniture sells at 200% to 400% mark ups, jewelry is far greater than 100% mark up and who knows the cost of a diamond when that industry “sets” the price and not much is really “solid gold”.  While we don’t really need these items, sellers do not necessarily negotiate the price on them.  Obviously, there is no service issue here.