What's the Best Hot Tub

Hot Tub Review

Master Spas
Manufacturer: Master Spas, Inc.

(Based on 12 reviews)
Avg. Price: $9766

Reviews: 1 - 12 of 12   View as Outline Post Review
Happy :)
Dec 3, 2017 3:26 pm
JSHelwig


I bought my Healthy Living Master Spa at The Cedar Park Center Spa Expo in Cedar Park, TX in June 2017. Yes, I was told that "no chemicals" were necessary, but I honestly never believed that. In fact, I wouldn't trust a "no chemical" hot tub in fear of bacteria. I just negotiated (hard), and got the saleman down to just $6,500.00. I had a feeling they were initially overpriced, but the tub looked top quality to me. It was installed without problem, and I've (along with a few lucky ladies) have thoroughly enjoyed the spa now for over 6 months straight. I'm a lawyer, so I wasn't (and still not) afraid to drop a lawsuit the moment a warranty is breached, but luckily I didn't have to. So far, the heater and all jets have worked perfectly. I'll be sure to update this review should something drastically change.

Date Purchased: 06/19/2017
Price Paid: $6500
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
Great heat and strong jets

Cons:
None.


This message was modified Dec 3, 2017 by
Master Spa expo is all lies
Feb 10, 2017 8:45 pm
Hottbsadness


First of all, the so called spa expo is a joke and false advertising. There are no bbqs and it's only one brand of spa. Literally every other sentence out of the sales guy's mouth was a lie. They say you don't need chemicals because of their patented filter. This is a complete and total lie. If you don't add chemicals pretty much daily, the water gets gross. After getting a bacterial infection my doctor told me to stop using the hot tub.

I did some digging and it's master pool and spa out of Minnesota, not factory direct like they claim. They have lots of bad reviews.

They said they have local service. After a $175 "trip charge" and 3 weeks later, that was shown to be a lie. I could go on and on about the nightmare this has been. Do yourself a favor and run away if a salesman says master spas.

Date Purchased: 10/2016
Price Paid: $8000
Recommend: No
Pros:
None. Costs a fortune to keep hot in colorado. Filtration system is worthless. Everything stinks

Cons:
Everything


Don't waste your money
Oct 28, 2016 1:53 pm
TimMatthews


I am a long time hot tub owner and have lots of experience with different systems and different tubs. I bought my Master Spa Twilight Series 8.2 hot tub at a local hot tub expo where they toted up to 60%. I Paid a lot of money for my tub. I actually paid more than I would have at my local dealer. That's my fault. I didn't do enough research. 5 weeks later, my tub was delivered and I had it setup. The Lithium system they pushed as "The best system ever" is garbage. I have never used a more labor intensive system. If you do not put chemicals in every single day than your water goes crappy on you. (I was told this by the delivery guy and boy was he right) More chemicals + a higher cost for the chemicals themselves = an extraordinarily high maintenance cost. So much so that my local supplier don't even carry the stuff anymore. Too many complaints about it. The Bluetooth system which was an add on, has no tuner feature and only works if you have a mobile device within 10 feet of the tub. This kind of defeats the purpose of a Bluetooth system when you have to constantly leave your device on the side of the tub so the system can work. Might as well have a chord. Next, the the fall set in I went out on the fist morning of frost to see how my cover was sealing. There was steam shooting out the sides like a kettle was boiling!! I have many other complaints about this product such as filtration, incorrect information in the Manual, yadda, yadda yadda. Do yourself a favor and go with a different tub!!

Tried to posy on Masterspa website and they wouldn't allow it because of Profanity! LOL I copied and pasted it here

Date Purchased: May 2016
Price Paid: $14000
Recommend: No
Pros:
Stays warm

Cons:
everything else


Love & Hate My Master Spa
Jun 14, 2013 1:35 pm
Randyk


Went to a 2010 Spa show in Wilmington Delaware and purchased a Master Spa (Twilight 8.3) through West Chester Spas, Pa (No longer in business). Spa was delivered in May, 2010. I have to say I love the Spa, but have had yearly issues from day one! From the start, the circulation pump was bad. Spa was under warranty and was repaired, Great! Spring 2011- the heater went bad. Service man told us he was replacing quite a few, Under warranty, Great! Spring 2012- Spa kept shutting down. After several days and several calls with West Chester Spa, it turned out one of the NEW filters was bad and not flowing properly. They replaced filters, Great! Spring of 2013- Noticed the water level kept dropping. One of the LED lights, which hadn't worked properly for about two years (but didn't really bother us) was cracked and leaking. Also the Spa kept shutting down. Why? Bad Heater. Again?
One Month out of warranty! Not Covered! Customer Service tells me it's due to Bad Water Chemistry. Really!!! I am meticulous when it comes to any maintenance in my home. I have followed their suggested cleaning and filter & water changes. We spent $9000.00 on a Spa that needs a new heater every two years?
Randy
Media, Pa

I see that 'dxb494' also had a heater fail. I would love to find out if others have bad heaters. Maybe we could get together.


Date Purchased: 5/2010
Price Paid: $9000
Recommend: No
Pros:
When it Works, We love it!

Cons:
Yearly Mechanical Problems


This message was modified Jun 14, 2013 by
Happy customer!!!!
Apr 20, 2013 1:32 pm
Jordan f


All I can say is WOW! I bought a twilight series after doing a ton of research. Super value, wonderful therapy. I love the lights at night.

Date Purchased: 03/13
Price Paid: $8200
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
Value, lights, water is easy to take care of

Cons:
Nothing really. My salesperson was super helpful.


Happy
Nov 24, 2011 1:05 pm
lover
*


I purchased the T.S. 8.25 from Premium Wholesale at a travelling Expo show they had and I absolutely love it!

I have owned 2 other spas in the past and never really fell in love with them. Each time I moved houses I choose to leave the old one behind in search of something bigger and better... I am not sure I will leave this one behind!!!

My Arthritus doesn't act up any more as I sit in the neck jet seat that has biomagnets in it... just like the bracelet I use to wear but 10 times better!

I love it 45 mins/day of fun for both me and hubby!



Date Purchased: July/2010
Price Paid: $9595
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
-amazing pressure: 2.5" plumbing versus the regular 1.5" found in other spas
-I switched my jets arouns to find the perfect combination... I think there are 6 different kinds of jets
-Amazing lighting
-Biomagnets placed in the neck jet captin seat have helped releave me of my Arthritus... as I understand it this is a feature patented by master spas.

Cons:
-Filters are a little pricy but since I save on chemicals costs with the EcoPure filter I don't care on the trade off as Lithium is sooo easy to use


Poor Customer Service
Apr 24, 2011 9:03 am
dxb494


We live in Ontario Canada. We bought this spa in June of 2010. When it arrived there were scratches on the top of the spa. I was told it would cost me $200 to have the scratches removed as it was a difficult move to get the tub placed where I wanted it. At no time did the tub come in contact with anything so how are the scratches my fault. It only took six months to getbthat problem resolved.

In February of 2011 the heatervstopped working. The same day I discovered this I notified my dealer. I was informed this was a problem Master Spa was having and the had approximately 30 heaters to replace. Two weeks later!!! they arrive to installvthe heater but it is frozen solid. The tech came back two days later with a portable heater to thaw thecspa heater.

With the the heater replaced I filled the tub only to find it drained the next day. Whilecwaitingbto have the heater installed one of the valves had frozen and cracked. I was told this was not covered under warranty because of "freezing caused by misuse or abuse".

Master Spa's heater failed in the middle of a Canadian Winter and the lines freeze. How is that misuse or abuse on my part.

I Amt not a very happy Master Spa customer. Still with out a hot tub.

Let's hope all you other Master Spa owners never need service!

Date Purchased: June 2010
Price Paid: $12000
Recommend: No
Pros:
Nice tub when it's working

Cons:
CUSTOMER SERVICE SUCKS!


Master Spa LSX
Mar 9, 2011 11:13 pm
SpaGuy911
*


Best Tub In The World!
The power of this tub is like no other!

Date Purchased: 09/2010
Price Paid: $13500
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
Perfect Therepy, Power, Performance

Cons:
Didint have a fridge built in


Master Spa LSX
Oct 26, 2010 4:16 pm
sdccarpentry
*


Over 2 years old and no problems what so ever works great

Date Purchased: 4/08
Price Paid: $10500
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
Jets are powerful , seats are designed well

Cons:
none


awsome hot tub
Jul 10, 2008 8:43 pm
wmccall
*****


we 've had are lsx for 2 weeks and so far its been awsome . west cester spas were on time to the second.

Date Purchased: 6/22/08
Price Paid: $10000
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
great hydrotherapy , lites are cool, built well and remote jet controls are great

Cons:
shoulder jets could be higher or adjustable


Master Spas LSX - Six month observations
Oct 21, 2004 5:29 pm
wmccall
*****


We purchased a LSX in May of 2004 and have the following to report.

Overall the quality of the tub is good. It has all the features we were looking for; therapy seats, strong jets, nice seating layout and features.We looked at other models but boiled everything down to service and efficiency. We live about 1 hour away from the manufacturer so it seemed like a safe bet.

Price for our spa was consistent with other mid to high end spas of its size and jet count. We bought it at a local spa show but the tub we chose was out of stock. Master gave us another tub with the CD stereo option for the same price and delivered it within 2 weeks of purchase. Not bad, only a couple of days longer than we agreed at purchase.

We installed the tub in an enclosed sunroom so we could get the year round benefits without the hassle of snow and muck during the winter. I removed the side of the sunroom and the delivery guys set the tub on spot, no problems. The only gripe I had was they didn't take away the skids and packaging but they made a nice bonfire.

Since the tub was installed in a closed room and we didn't want to sweat up the windows and such, I installed a 70 pint dehumidifier and drain that into a small condensate pump which in turn pumps the water back into the hot tub cutting down on how much we add water and chemicals. We keep the tub uncovered as my wife has a hard time with the standard cover.

We have loved the tub thus far. We have twin sons playing high school football and probably average 2 to 4 bathers a day. The filtration system works well but I hate setting down my satchel for the OEM filters and we're looking at changing over to a textile membrane rather than the paper filters. Hard water and higher than average pH are probably to blame so I can't really fault Master for this.

The only problem encountered thus far is a faulty circuit board that constantly generated a LF or "low flow" error shutting down the heaters. The board was relaced under warranty.

I really can't say anything but good things about the LSX and Master Spas in general. My phone calls and e-mails have been promptly answered and the problem or two that I had were resolved without a fuss.

Oh yeah, did I mention how great it feels?

Here's to being in hot water!





Date Purchased: 05/2004
Price Paid: $8000
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
Size, Features, Therapeutic Value

Cons:
Balboa Control, Cost of filters when used with hard (well) water. Cost of filters, Cost of filters.


LSX--An awesome tub!
Jul 15, 2004 10:45 am
wmccall
*****


The Master Spas LSX is an awesome tub! It measures 7'10" by 7'10" but only seats 5--a size which normally would seat 6-7. But the unique design and therapy of the each of the 3 therapy seats, the lounger, and the cooldown seat make it a REALLY special spa.

The Extreme Therapy seat is certainly a "spa within a spa". There are 18 therapy jets plus 2 whirlpool jets and 1 MasterBlaster foot jet with 15 indiviual nozzles that really makes this seat unique. One of the three therapy pumps (2 speed) is dedicated to the 20 jets of this seat (the MasterBlaster jets share a separate pump (1 speed) with the lounger jets). A diverter diverts water flow between the 18 therapy jets and the 2 whirlpool jets. 6 of the 18 therapy jets work on hips and outer thighs and are great if special therapy is needed in these areas plus, with a little shifting, the hamstrings can receive a nice massage as well. The whirlpool jets are excellent for hand/wrist/forearm therapy as are the lower thigh jets if one places their hands down along these jets. The 2 jets at the bottom front of the seat work better for achilles tendons when one's legs are positioned appropriately. Two handles are molded into the shell to facilitate exiting the seat as well as stability during high pressure massage. And, as a bonus, the structure that separates this seat from the neck/shoulder therapy seat in the corner provides a wonderful martini glass platform (plastic martini glasses, of course)! Actually, the LSX is extremely "cup friendly" with many suitable places around the tub.

The neck/shoulder therapy corner seat has reverse molded jets that direct 2 therapy jets to the top of the shoulders and 2 jets to the upper neck areas. These four jets are at/above water level and are noisy if not being used--fortunately, like the other therapy jets, they can be individually closed thus eliminating noise and/or subsequent spray from the shoulders. These four jets are wonderful and do a great job of loosening stressed muscles/tendons. The second MasterBlaster foot jet serves this seat and the waterfall seat. The waterfall seat specializes in lower back therapy. The lower jets really work well on the lower back/gluteous muscles and provide much needed massage in this crucial area. They rotate at a slow pace which emulates a nice massage performed by hand. A 2 speed pump provides therapy for both the neck/shoulder and the waterfall seats.

Loungers are a point of contention for many spa owners. Some say they will not purchase a second tub that has a lounger after initially purchasing a lounger equipped tub. Not so, IMHO, regarding the LSX lounger. As noted above, it shares a 1 speed therapy pump with the MasterBlaster foot jets, utilizing a diverter. Though the pump is only 1 speed, it is very suited to the lounger/MasterBlaster jets as the diverter is infinitely variable between the two. There are 2 foot jets in the lounger that are most effective for taller (over 5'8") individuals and, just short of these jets, there are 2 places molded in the shell for placing one's heels. This is especially effective for shorter individuals. The calf jets are very effective and provide the best therapy for lower legs, ankles, and, with a little body shift, knees. Also, if sitting backwards in the lounger (i.e., with one's back to the filter area), the calf jets give the best hamstring massage found in this tub. The lounger back jets are very soothing. One wrist/hand jet on the right side is adequate and a missing matching one for the left wrist would be a nice addition. I have found any tendency to float out of the lounger to be minimal for my body size/weight (5'11"/175) and then only with the diverter on full lounger and all the lounger jets completely open. Leave it to say, for my experience, any tendency to float is met with extreme control of the jets and utilization of both the diverter and the molded heel indentations. A nice touch is the handle that is molded into the shell that facilitates exit from the lounger.

The cooldown seat is jetless and provides a shallow seat where one's torso is out of the water from around navel up. This is the main entry/exit point for the tub. When the tub is surface mounted (not sunken), a 2 level step provides an very accessible entryway to the tub.

I ordered my tub with a ColorGlo (http://www.colorgloproducts.com/product.html) Raydiance LED light option. It is great at night against the almond pearl shell color. I especially like the red which allows for star gazing while providing visibility in the tub. Of course, a dark tub under a dark sky at night cannot be beat! I passed on Master Spas' fiber optic light option because of both the extra cost and the extra shell penetrations that are inherent wtih that system.

In summary, I am 110% pleased with this tub. Only longevity and dependability remain a question which will be answered over time. If I were asked to summarize my feelings about this tub in one word, it would be "adjustability". The massage therapy adjustability makes this spa extremely comfortable. I am very happy with my choice even with my dealer being 200+ miles away. The LSX is certainly worth it.

Date Purchased: July/2004
Price Paid: $7895
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
Individually adjustable jets, Extreme Therapy Seat, MasterBlaster foot therapy, lounger design, diverter design, three individually unique seats + lounger--each with different therapy--plus a cooldown seat, 3 therapy pumps + 1-24/7 circ pump

Cons:
Waterfall and pillow on waterfall seat are rather lame, space for electrical connections in Balboa controller is tight and unnecessarily limiting


More Information
Help Help
Member List Member List
Moderator List Moderator List
Home    Buying Guide    Featured Products    Forums    Reviews    About    Contact   
Copyright ©1998-2021, Whats The Best, Inc. All rights reserved. Site by Take 42