What's the Best Hot Tub

Hot Tub Review

Artesian
Manufacturer: Artesian Spas

(Based on 7 reviews)
Avg. Price: $8429

Reviews: 1 - 7 of 7   View as Outline Post Review
Artesian South Seas 965L
Oct 19, 2021 2:29 pm
tomdnj


I spent over a year researching just about every large hot tub out there. This is hands down the best value in a larger hot tub. In normal times this tub sold for around $9K with the full insulation upgrade, frog@ease, steps, cover and delivery. Covid demand pushed that number to $11K or higher in my area of North Jersey... which is always more expensive for everything.

I've had the tub for about a month and absolutely love it. It's amazing how much difference that extra 14"-17" makes. It just looks and feels like you have space. The jets both in number and power are adequate for awesome hydrotherapy...would a few more of the high flow ones be great? Sure, but this thing more than does the job.

The LED lights are awesome! I do wish it had a couple more of those since there are some spots in the middle of the tub that remain dark when the jets are on.

I read all over forums about how you don't want a tub with a lounger. "They are a waste of a seat", you "float" out of it, "90% of people who buy a 2nd hot tub don't buy one with a lounger" and tons of other unsubstantiated "research".
Well either Artesian somehow figured out how to make the perfect lounger(not likely) or the above anecdotes are sales tactics to push hot tubs without loungers because the lounger on my tub is hands down the best seat in the house. I could literally lay in that thing for hours and my 5'9" 170lb body has never floated out of the seat...considering acorns and leaves sink to the bottom of a hot tub I'm sure this is not an anomaly.

I've only had the tub for 2 months but here are the negatives.

This tub is big and it devours those frog@ease in line cholor cartridges. At $17 each I'm burring through them about 1 every 3 weeks.

The tub arrived with a faulty Jet. For $11K, everything should work right out of the box. Period. Don't BS me with shipping this and delivery that. If this is your business you know how to transport an item and have everything work. Also, the 3 year parts and labor warranty DOES NOT cover them coming out to repair a faulty jet. You have to figure out how to remove the jet, take it into the shop you bought it at and get a replacement. Again, this is a ridiculous ask for a NEW product. If this is industry standard, than it's an industry problem.

This model comes with an upgraded LED lighting package but I would actually spring for the rail lighting add on since the 3 lights could use a little more umph.

I also considered the Isla Margarita Elite which is basically the same tub with a better warranty, a dozen extra jets and a flow control for 2 of the seats. In normal times this tub was about $11K, but covid demand pushed it to $13,500 in my neck of the woods. I did not think the added features were worth the price difference. I also did not like the seating layout. In the margarita Elite the 3 best seats outside the lounger are all right next to each other. If you have a bunch of kids in the tub this is not an issue but if its an adult party you have to be all jammed up against each other which in my pinion kind of defeats the purpose of a larger tub. I also looked at the Clarity balance 9 which I thought was great but again liked the layout of the 965L better.





Date Purchased: 9/2021
Price Paid: $11000
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
Value, Size, Jets

Cons:
Lighting, Chemical consumption, not 100% functional upon delivery.


Artesian Captiva
Jan 23, 2021 8:56 am
A.O.
***


POS!! Wont maintain heat, jets wont stay in..

I wrote a full Review above on this list of reviews, see above.

Date Purchased: October 2020
Price Paid: $8900
Recommend: No
Pros:
NADA!

Cons:
Most everything else!


Artesian Grand Cayman 46
Oct 18, 2017 9:11 am
mathers1039
*


After a lot of research mostly online we went with the Artesian Grand Cayman (no lounger). The jets are very powerful, the spa frog seems great and less hassle with the chemicals. Love the layout. Very roomie tub!

Date Purchased: 10/2017
Price Paid: $8700
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
powerful jets, great lighting

Cons:
waterfall goes directly into tub, doesn't pour up and over like I thought it would


artesian spa
Jun 9, 2016 3:02 am
ripoff


Bought a artesian spa cause it was made in America,, it was a lemon from the get go, called the company directly, worst customer service i have ever had in my entire life, my as well have bought one made in China.. Paid of 9K. could have got a better one for half price. Beware of this brand.

Date Purchased: 2016
Price Paid: $9500
Recommend: No
Pros:
I will say it has good pressure, when its working

Cons:
panels falling apart, jets pop out all the time, pumps are loud, installation is poor.


This message was modified Jun 9, 2016 by
3 month spa review
Jan 5, 2005 11:51 am
wmccall
*****


We have now had the Island Grand Bahama for 3 months. We have used it for 1-2 hours every night, minus maybe a week at the longest, with 2 to 4 people using the spa. Every thing has worked flawlessly. Changed the water after the first month, and have had no water chemistry problems. Learning curve, but thats been fun. We would definately buy another Artesian Island Grand Bahama spa. Our dealer has checked on us numerous times as well. We would also buy from him again. The dealer support is probably the most important part of the after sale aspect. Ours is great.

Date Purchased: October 2004
Price Paid: $6000
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
The hydrotherapy jets work great. The lounger is our favorite seat. Large, many jets in the right place. Everything about the Grand Bahama is a plus.

Cons:
None


Artesian Island Grand Bahama
Nov 1, 2004 8:13 pm
wmccall
*****


We bought the GB after wet testing quite a few different spa's. We loved the Hot Springs, but the Artesian GB had the jets and power in just the right places to make the sale for us. We were amazed when the price was even lower than the Hot Springs.

Date Purchased: 29 Sept 04
Price Paid: $6200
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
Everything.

Cons:
None


The Artesian Piper Glen is the Best Spa I Have Owned!
Aug 14, 2003 9:46 am
wmccall
*****


The Artesian Piper Glen is our second spa. Since we already had an old Hot Spring Grandee we were able to take our time the second time around and do a lot of research and wet testing. My wife has arthritis in both knees and I have foot and back problems so we concentrated on finding a spa that would give us the best therapy and still be economical to run as well as last us many years. The spa had to be able to handle the cold of New England winters so after much research we realized that full foam was the best method in cold climates so that limited our choices to 12 major manufacters who had dealers in the Boston area. We spent a lot of months wet testing and calling various manufactuers and talking with their engineers before deciding on this spa. This spa has a unique design in that it has 5 dedicated therapy pumps at each therapy location so that automaticly elimated 40-50% of the usual plumbing found in most spas, as well as the diverter valves, and provided dedicated pumps directly attached to the therapy area. The motors are also a pattented design that eliminates most of issues that cause motors to fail. Each therapy seat has a dedicated control for the pump that acts like a rheostat or light dimmer so you can control the amount of presure to the jets. This is not just a hi/low control, but just like a light dimmer you have many different levels you set the jets too. The fact that each therapy area has it's own pump means that you only have on the pumps that you are actually using so that saves considerably on electricty. This spa has only averaged us $30 a month to run and we use it every day, somtimes twice a day. The shell has a lifetime warranty and all parts are covered for 5 years with a non prorated warranty. We asked a freind of ours who is a chemical engineer to evaluate the construction and materials of the shell, and he said they can offer a lifetime warranty because the shell is so well contructed that it will most likely out live us. This is the most comfortable and well designed spa that we could possiably want. We have had zero problems and the dealer even came by for a free visit to check on everything a couple of months after installation. Both my foot and back problems as well as my wife's arthritis have been signifcantly improved through the use of this spa. In case you can't tell I will finish up by saying we love this spa! We highly recommend this spa to anyone who is looking for a high quality spa.

Date Purchased: 4/02
Price Paid: $8700
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
The best hydrotherapy out of 13 major spa manufacturers that we wet tested and researched. Ergonomicly well designed. Powerful and economic pumps. Unique engineering design with 5 dedicated therapy pumps that are adujstable at each therapy area. 24 hour circulation pump and ozonator.

Cons:
None really. If you are looking for toys such as waterfalls, fiber optics, stereo systems then this spa isn't for you, since it is a true therapy spa. Because of its unique design you need to have service access to three sides of the spa. (not really a con to us but it might be to some people)


More Information
Help Help
Member List Member List
Moderator List Moderator List
Home    Buying Guide    Featured Products    Forums    Reviews    About    Contact   
Copyright ©1998-2021, Whats The Best, Inc. All rights reserved. Site by Take 42