What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Hot Tub temp when not in use?  (Read 63929 times)

richopian

Hot Tub temp when not in use?
« on: December 18, 2006, 11:59:32 am »
Hi all,
I'm new to this hot tub thing and was just wondering what temp everyone recommends setting there tub to when not using it.

I have no idea myself. The first night I thought I'd better bring it down to 80 degrees overnight (so as not to pay for heating to a higher temperature). It ended up snowing that night and to my surprise in the morning the temp was 100 degrees !! - I guess the circulatino and filter pumps that run must help maintain the temp.

Last night I set it to 90 degress, but am now wondering if this is foolish. Should I just leave it set at 100.  

Any thoughts and advice...

cheers
Rich

Hot Tub Forum

Hot Tub temp when not in use?
« on: December 18, 2006, 11:59:32 am »

PotomacG

• What's so funny 'bout peace, love & understanding?
Re: Hot Tub temp when not in use?
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2006, 12:08:33 pm »
If it's a new tub, set it and forget it.  Unless you're leaving it at a vacation house where you are away for long periods, it's not practicle, nor will it save you much (if anything) to play with the thermostat on a daily basis.

You want that baby hot and waiting for you to jump right in!

My $.02

tony

• Ultimate Member
  • 2002 Optima
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2006, 12:11:36 pm »
I agree...set it and forget it.  I leave mine at 102.

Reese

« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2006, 12:16:03 pm »
If you are going to use the tub regularly, you probably won't save anything by setting the temp down, because water heats and cools slowly, and requires a lot of energy to reheat.  On some tubs, setting the temp down causes the controller to go into "summer mode", shutting off the circ pump or filter cycles to avoid generating any additional heat.  That may not be advisable in the winter, when keeping the water moving helps maintain a uniform temp.