What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Bullfrog SWCG Conversion  (Read 6717 times)

bacontrees

Bullfrog SWCG Conversion
« on: December 05, 2019, 03:53:53 pm »
Long-time lurker on the forums, and I recently got my R7L w/ EOS (ozone)/CP from a great and knowledgeable local dealer who is active here as well.

I know I could easily get pretty much any SWCG unit and drape it over, but I'm an engineer and perfectionist, and that's not my style.

I'd like to get something hardwired/hidden/in-line -- looking at ControlOMatic (not sure yet on SmarterSpa vs ChlorMaker -- sensor vs timer operation), and it should be easy enough to install one right after the CP and have chlorine generation in the perfect place.

Here's my conundrum:

With an in-line system there must not be chlorine generation in non-moving water.  Hydrogen is a byproduct of SWCG and of course is dangerous in high concentrations, and chlorine itself as I understand it is pretty corrosive and generally bad in higher concentrations as well.  So I need to make sure the SWCG power is only on when there's flowing water (CP on).  I can do this easily enough with a PP1 AMP splitter or similar, but what I'd really love to do is have CP run 24/7, and have ozone only run during filter cycles.  I know I can set a 24/7 filtration cycle, which will run both CP and ozone, but running ozone 24/7 is excessive, it'll wear out the CD ozone unit much more quickly, and it'll constantly eat all my FC, making it nearly impossible to maintain a residual without running the SWCG 24/7 (prematurely wearing out that unit out too).

If I could access the field programming options on the Gecko as outlined in the Start-up guide (http://www.geckodocs.com/yseries) I could have a perfect, clean setup, but BF seems to have this locked out, and BF tech support either has no idea what I'm talking about or just won't tell me :-\

My current best ideas are: