What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Another Newbie, Another question. Something a bit different - water changes?  (Read 26839 times)

Michael Russell

Hey Folks...

Yes another I am new at this question...

Been looking at tubs the last couple of days. Trying to educate myself. Something that came up during my reading and store visits was water change intervals. It seems most tubs come in around 3 - 4 months depending on usage. Being on a low quality well I will not be able to use my local water source to refill and will have to truck water in. I am told that is around $100 (CAD). With this in mind I have been leaning towards a salt water solution as I am told you are the upwards of a year between water changes helping me reduce expenses a bit.

So a few questions around this...

• Is there decent products or methods to operate traditional chlo/bro with reduce water changes that I should look at?
  • I believe that Salt is a little more expensive to operate then Chlo/bro, saving $300 year though on water changes I think salt would be my better option. Thoughts?
  • Am I missing any considerations in the puzzle of salt vs chlo/bro that I should be looking at?

The only salt water tub I have had a chance to look at is Lazboy. Specifically the Revive. We sat in the tub dry and its comfortable enough. I am no wowed by the overall product. The insulation specifically just seems like it should be better. The dealer has offered up with out any real work $12k cash(cad) (all in) including delivery and cover lifter. This is on a in stock model. I am sure I can do better on price.

I plan on stopping by Arctic Spa hopefully next week to look at the Klondiker. Trying not to buy into the marketing but I like their insulation scheme. Just seems to make sense to my feeble mind. I don't have any pricing as of yet. Anyone have any Canadian $$'s ideas for Arctic Klondiker?