What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Hot Springs Jetsetter conversion to 220V  (Read 5144 times)

rothnh

Hot Springs Jetsetter conversion to 220V
« on: November 13, 2016, 08:27:17 pm »
I wanted to share the story of the conversion of my 2013 Jetsetter from 110v to 220v given that I gathered all info on the process through a mix of online posts.  I chose to do the job myself and am pleased I did.  I am not an electrician, but I study DYI pretty hard!  Living in NH, I wanted both the jets and heater running at once.  I previously had a large Jucuzzi hot tub that I removed (junk!) over six years ago.  It was connected with a 60A GFCI breaker in an indoor subpanel which was connected outdoors via 8 gauge wire to a disconnect box.  I changed the indoor configuration to a 50A regular breaker (I had to reconnected the neutral which was not used by the original 60A GFCI - something I did not see at first) and connected it to a very basic Siemens outdoor panel (Siemens Energy W0408ML1125U $26 Amazon) with a 30A GFCI double ($50) and 20A GFCI single ($30) which I installed.  Of note - there is a $250+ panel sold by Watkins which I am very glad I did not buy - the Siemens set up with two GFCIs was 1/2 of that including the single pole 20A GFCI!). I used (five strands) 10 gauge wire to connect from the panel to the tub (~25' of each wire for a tub that is about 15' from the panel).  I ran everything under my deck (much thanks to my buddy's 8 year old son to get under there and pull the unconnected conduit). I placed all wiring in grey locktight conduit.  The instructions in the Hot Spring guide were accurate.  All-in-all disconnecting the 110v and connecting the 220v was fairly straight forward.  The process went smoothly and things seem to work well.  I just took my first 220V tub, with jets running 100% of the time, for about 50 minutes.  It was 45 degrees out in NH (balmy night!). The water went from 103 to 100 degrees.  I am not yet attune to how the water temperature wi