What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Tricks to getting rid of too much foam  (Read 42370 times)

michiganwinter

Tricks to getting rid of too much foam
« on: January 15, 2009, 02:19:36 pm »
Hi all, I did a search first but couldn't find anything addressing this issue. I am getting a lot of foam in the tub. The tub is getting a lot of use and I have finally managed to get the water balanced recently. Have been shocking once a week plus booster due to high usage, and have used the chlorine boost as well (Nature 2, so no bromine). The alkalinity and PH seem to be within the range on the test strips but today I had a lot of foam, and yesterday the tub had a bit of a musty odor (sweat, oils?). Is there a simple way to deal with this, remembering I am a total newb to tubbing? Can't drain and refill due to the frigid temps here too.

Hot Tub Forum

Tricks to getting rid of too much foam
« on: January 15, 2009, 02:19:36 pm »

cburk0677

Re: Tricks to getting rid of too much foam
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2009, 03:54:40 pm »
I recommend doing a Chlorine shock. Put 3-4 times the normal amount of chlorine in the the tub and run the jets on high for half or so with the cover at least partially open to vent out the chlorine gases. You should also take your filters out and clean them.

If you have ozone on your tub the ozone will eventually break down foam. If your tub is getting a lot of use it is hard to keep the foam in check as perfumes, lotions, soap, shampoo, hairproducts and even washing machine detergent residue on swimsuits will cause the tub to foam up.

If it is family using the tub the most tell them to shower before using the tub or at least not put their heads under the water. Also you can wash swimsuits without soap.

If it is guests causing the problem there isn't much you can do about it. If they are attractive females tell them that swimsuits cause the foam so they are going to have to use it in the buff :o