What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Level of Bromine before getting in.  (Read 9920 times)

cooltoy2000

• Go Flames Go!!!
Level of Bromine before getting in.
« on: July 16, 2006, 03:24:05 am »
Hello, here is another in the endless chemical questions from a newbie.

Being a newbie I test more then I should, mostly to see how the water reacts to different situations. I always ( always meaning a week and a half) test before getting in to the tub, just to make sure all the levels are where they should be.

To begin I should say that I add a tsp of bromine/person after each soak for a 10 minute cleaning cycle. Of course that gets the level of bromine up high. I was told that the level of bromine should be 3-5 ppm (by the way I was given the Spa-Guard starter kit), however every time I test the next day before I get in, the level is down to 0 ppm. Should I be adding Bromine before getting in to raise the level to the 3-5 ppm recommended or just not worry about it.

Thank you.

Hot Tub Forum

Level of Bromine before getting in.
« on: July 16, 2006, 03:24:05 am »

Tatooed_Lady

• Participating in the Witness Protection Program
Re: Level of Bromine before getting in.
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2006, 09:38:40 am »
Bromine is usually used in a floater, so that keeps the levels up 24/7. Chlorine is added after (or before, depending on your preference) tub use.
If you're using bromine, purchase a floater, insert your bromine pucks or whatever form you use, set the floater to dispense it at a rate that works for you (ours is at about 7 out of 12 or so), and enjoy! We only remove the floater when we use the tub.
RIP C-Rod

cooltoy2000

• Go Flames Go!!!
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2006, 01:04:08 pm »
Thanks you for your reply, however, I do not have a floater. Was not given one. Most likely not going to get one. There has to be a procedure to keep the level up with just the powder. If I even need to do that.

cooltoy2000

• Go Flames Go!!!
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2006, 12:21:08 pm »