What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Erratic Bromine levels  (Read 3164 times)

chumley

Erratic Bromine levels
« on: June 19, 2013, 03:34:25 pm »
Hi,
This is driving me crazy.  I have a new Marquis hot tub with an ozonator and built in Frog Bromine cartridge system.  I have set the Br to 2 on the Frog cartridge as instructed by the mfg and what is happening is the Br levels go down to 0.5 ppm (tested with Taylor color change drops) and then I shocked it and waited two hours and it went up to 14.5! so I left the cover off for an hour and let pump run and then it was down to 1.5 ppm so I used it. The next morning it was 0.5 ppm and I shocked it with about 1 oz and in two hours it went up to 2 ppm.  I used it once and it went down to 0.5 ppm again. I can't seem to get it to stay in the "ideal" range.  The TA is 120, H is 240 and pH is 7.2.  Temp is 100 deg.
The tub is brand new and only3 months old.
Any help would be appreciated.  I am totally new to this and decided right away that the test strips did not help since I am color blind and the Taylor test kit suits my mad chemist bent.

Hot Tub Forum

Erratic Bromine levels
« on: June 19, 2013, 03:34:25 pm »

chem geek

Re: Erratic Bromine levels
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2013, 05:20:03 pm »
It sounds like you did not initially establish a bromide bank by adding 1/2 ounce per 100 gallons initially.  If you did, then a properly functioning ozonator would be producing more bromine from the bromide bank -- probably enough to maintain a bromine level when not soaking, but you would still likely need to add an oxidizer (usually chlorine or non-chlorine shock, MPS) after each soak unless you soak infrequently and for a short time.

chumley

« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2013, 08:01:55 pm »

Thanks very much for responding. I really appreciate it.

It sounds like you did not initially establish a bromide bank by adding 1/2 ounce per 100 gallons initially.