What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Prism tub, need help!  (Read 3299 times)

Hot tub dummy

Prism tub, need help!
« on: January 07, 2020, 11:41:53 am »
I'm new to the hot tub world. My PH and Alk are in balance. The salt level is always in the yellow and creeps into the red sometimes. I have the setting on 6. Hard water is really high and the chlorine doesn't show up on the test strips. My dealer told me that I only have to check the PH but what I read on this forum, that doesn't sound true. I have had it for 4 months and I changed the salt cartridge last week. Do I need to change the water every 4 months? HELP!!!!

Hot Tub Forum

Prism tub, need help!
« on: January 07, 2020, 11:41:53 am »

castletonia

Re: Prism tub, need help!
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2020, 04:56:02 pm »
You NEED soft water.  If you have high calcium hardness, you either need to use however many of the Vanishing Act or Vanishing Act XL's are necessary to get the hardness under 75 ppm or you need to invest in a portable water softener so that when you fill it is softened water.  If you cannot accomplish the soft water part, I would probably move away from the salt system as you're always going to have issues.

If your salt level is high, then you either have too much salt in the water or your TDS is too high and that is causing a false reading. 

A output setting of 6 is too low especially on the Prism.  Pretty much every customer I have with either a Prism or Cantabria are set for 10 and I have one that has to supplement with chlorine every now and then because their usage is ridiculously heavy.  If you do need to add chlorine, liquid is preferred though you can occasionally add di-chlor but you have to be careful with how high the CYA goes.  I would also have your dealer test for phosphates since high phosphates can prohibit the system from producing chlorine effectively.