What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Arctic Spa (Spa Boy) - Anyone has?  (Read 10203 times)

Quickbeam

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 512
Re: Arctic Spa (Spa Boy) - Anyone has?
« Reply #15 on: December 22, 2015, 06:07:21 pm »
Water Boy is a pretty regular poster here and I believe he is an Arctic dealer. If he doesn't see your post you could always send him a PM.

Hot Tub Forum

Re: Arctic Spa (Spa Boy) - Anyone has?
« Reply #15 on: December 22, 2015, 06:07:21 pm »

Hot Tub Guru

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 229
    • Heavenly Times Hot Tubs & Billiards
Re: Arctic Spa (Spa Boy) - Anyone has?
« Reply #16 on: December 30, 2015, 11:14:55 am »
I am an Arctic Spa Dealer as well for over 16 years now.  We do sell Spa Boy.  I have one at my house as well.  It does monitor your spa for Ph and Sanitizer.  It will turn your salt system on if your sanitizer gets low.  It will alert you to your Ph level.  It does not adjust your Ph level.  Now as far as WiFi it does come with a link to your router.  Now WiFi does go in and out at your home it will then go in and out on your spa.  However if you can run an ethernet cable to your spa that is a better method. 

sergey

  • Junior Member
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: Arctic Spa (Spa Boy) - Anyone has?
« Reply #17 on: December 30, 2015, 01:28:55 pm »
Thank you for the info! Appreciate it. I was thinking that it regulate PH too ... A bit disappointed. PH down pump would be a good addition.
So the main advantage is that SpaBoy increase or decrease bromine level automatically? Am I Right ?
I did not see this feature anywhere else so far ...
How does the system check bromine level ? I did not see a probe on the Arctic Spa website. Just PH probe.
Thank you !

sergey

  • Junior Member
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: Arctic Spa (Spa Boy) - Anyone has?
« Reply #18 on: December 30, 2015, 01:34:01 pm »
Hot Tub Guru, How long do you have this system at home ? (I mean salt system)
I am just trying to understand how long would a pump and a heater work in salty water. Will they still work 5+ years?

Hot Tub Guru

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 229
    • Heavenly Times Hot Tubs & Billiards
Re: Arctic Spa (Spa Boy) - Anyone has?
« Reply #19 on: December 30, 2015, 09:25:09 pm »
I'm hoping that Ph regulation comes out in the future.  Yes Spa Boy will increase the sodium chloride level.  It won't decrease it, the system just doesn't run so naturally it will decrease.  There is a Ph and sodium chloride probe that is one probe that tests the water. 

The SpaBoy is just our Onzen system taken to a new level.  We have been selling salt systems for 5 or 6 years now.  I can't remember when it first came out.  As far as equipment lasting we haven't seen a decrease in how long the components last. 

sergey

  • Junior Member
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: Arctic Spa (Spa Boy) - Anyone has?
« Reply #20 on: January 04, 2016, 08:58:10 am »
Thanks ! So it is Chlorine Salt System ? not Bromine ?

Hot Tub Guru

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 229
    • Heavenly Times Hot Tubs & Billiards
Re: Arctic Spa (Spa Boy) - Anyone has?
« Reply #21 on: January 04, 2016, 03:08:29 pm »
You can use Sodium Bromide but the Sodium Chloride works way better with the SpaBoy system. 

sergey

  • Junior Member
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: Arctic Spa (Spa Boy) - Anyone has?
« Reply #22 on: January 04, 2016, 03:11:59 pm »
And the Arctic Spa Boy Probe(sensor) still be able to read the level of sanitizer ?
I thought that Bromine works better in hot water ... more stable .. I could be wrong ...

sergey

  • Junior Member
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: Arctic Spa (Spa Boy) - Anyone has?
« Reply #23 on: June 28, 2016, 03:43:00 pm »
It was a while ago ...
Is there anyone here who has "Spa Boy" to share your experience?
Thank you !!!

Hot Tub Guru

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 229
    • Heavenly Times Hot Tubs & Billiards
Re: Arctic Spa (Spa Boy) - Anyone has?
« Reply #24 on: July 10, 2016, 04:42:09 pm »
We have been selling LOTS of Spa Boy systems.  We have been selling our Onzen system for over 8 years.  The Spa Boy is just a little more advanced then our Onzen system.  Works Great!  It's best to have your tub hooked to the internet via an ethernet cable rather then the WiFi module if your able.  As hard wire is always better then wireless. 

spavatar88

  • Junior Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Arctic Spa (Spa Boy) - Anyone has?
« Reply #25 on: May 17, 2019, 03:20:50 pm »
Hi Sergey,

Here is a link to the reviews of actual clients we have using SpaBoy.   https://www.google.com/search?q=hot%20tubs&rlz=1C5CHFA_enCA847CA847&oq=hot+tubs&aqs=chrome.0.69i59j69i61j0l4.1371j0j4&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8&npsic=0&rflfq=1&rlha=0&rllag=48780682,-123703936,520&tbm=lcl&rldimm=29613668449583563&phdesc=kLidXM7O2Lk&ved=2ahUKEwjI8ZeZn6PiAhUVHzQIHQu3AlkQvS4wAHoECAsQIg&rldoc=1&tbs=lrf:!2m1!1e2!2m1!1e3!3sIAE,lf:1,lf_ui:10#lrd=0x548f4f66f0a55555:0x6935797c6f01cb,1,,,&rlfi=hd:;si:29613668449583563,y,kLidXM7O2Lk;mv:!1m2!1d49.304292399999994!2d-122.78508919999999!2m2!1d48.342377899999995!2d-124.10667540000001!3m12!1m3!1d465824.22574261023!2d-123.4458823!3d48.82333514999999!2m3!1f0!2f0!3f0!3m2!1i482!2i532!4f13.1;tbs:lrf:!2m1!1e2!2m1!1e3!3sIAE,lf:1,lf_ui:10

I get that people don't really give much credence to what a dealer might say, but the above is what clients think. 

you had a couple of questions: 

1. Regarding automatic pH control. We agree that if SpaBoy adjusted the pH for you that it would be amazing and have been researching ways to do this from the get go.  There are some challenges with having a vessel filled with acid somewhere under the spa, (in fact, we have been testing pH feeding systems and the current generators have this ability already onboard, but we want this to be rock solid before releasing.) Stay tuned as this is the direction we are heading and rest assured, whatever solution we come up with will be backward compatible, so all Arctics with SpaBoy will be able to add it. 
2. Bromine is not allowable in in salt water generator systems in Canada, and as other posters have noted NaCl works better. 
3. As for corrosion, the salt concentrations used with SpaBoy are saline, about 0.8%, same as the human body, NOT ocean water with 20 times or more salt concentration, so far less corrosive than you might think.  In fact, look at the bottles of tradition chlorine or bromine and you will see on the label the skeletal hand immersed in a buck of chemicals indicating that those are very corrosive.  I have seen far more damage caused by chemicals then I have ever seen with SpaBoy systems.  SpaBoy manages the water in micro-doses, providing just the right amount of sanitizer, at levels far lower than in a traditional hot tub, because it is monitored.  With a traditional set up, we have to assume that clients will forget and keep the levels higher.  Further, when they do test they often make macro adjustments, particularly when they find the tub looking suspect because they forgot and now are playing catch up.  in these cases, they often over do it, and that is corrosive.  We use a sacrificial anode to reduce water corrosiveness and the electrode is designed to be replaced, like your filter, about once a year, which is really the only thing that is subject to failure due to water chemistry over time with the SpaBoy system.


Hot Tub Forum

Re: Arctic Spa (Spa Boy) - Anyone has?
« Reply #25 on: May 17, 2019, 03:20:50 pm »

 

Home    Buying Guide    Featured Products    Forums    Reviews    About    Contact   
Copyright ©1998-2019, Whats The Best, Inc. All rights reserved. Site by Take 42