What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Picking up a Hot Spring sx tomorrow  (Read 2616 times)

Whitepine459

Picking up a Hot Spring sx tomorrow
« on: February 13, 2019, 11:52:02 am »
Hello all,

Great info here, I'm looking forward to finally becoming a spa owner as of tomorrow (Thursday)...

Found a 5 y.o. Hot Spring SX for a good price. Owner says it works great, no issues ever, they've loved it, they're moving and want to upgrade at their new place.

I have seen the SX at the dealer and it's perfect size for me and my wife and a very occasional guest or two.

I've read on here that they're well-liked, and last a long time, so many thanks for all the info here.

My main question is about startup. I'm a total newbie when it comes to pool/spa chemistry. I've learned what I can about the important parameters, pH, calcium hardness, alkalinity, and sanitizer levels, but don't yet have any products or strategy (previous owner says he has chlorine (edit: bromine, and I didn't get any) pucks I can have). I'm wondering if there are any tips or tricks when filling up for the first time.

Our water: we are on a well. We have a water softener and can bypass it. Our unsoftened well water is on the hard side, but not too bad, no scale or staining ever formed before getting the softener. It is also clear and drinkable.

I have read that some folks try 50-50 soft/unsoft and some suggest no more than 25% soft. Right now I'm thinking I would try 75% unsoftened and then 25% from our hot water supply, which is softened.

I see there are pre-filters for use while filling the tub, would this be a good idea?

Is there any crucial step I should be aware of?

I look forward to dialling in my spa experience, thanks very much for any help in advance :)
« Last Edit: February 16, 2019, 12:15:49 pm by Whitepine459 »

Hot Tub Forum

Picking up a Hot Spring sx tomorrow
« on: February 13, 2019, 11:52:02 am »

d00nut

Re: Picking up a Hot Spring sx tomorrow