What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Are you having anxiety over making a spa purchase?  (Read 16290 times)

bodguy

• Hot Spring Vista owner
Are you having anxiety over making a spa purchase?
« on: August 09, 2004, 10:39:19 am »
As a 1st time hot tub/spa buyer I found there was one "down side" to doing my research using the hot tub message boards and forums, anxiety over prices. Anxiety that I actually did not have prior to starting research. Let me explain:

The 1st thing you find when doing proper research is that this purchase is probably going to cost you more than you had planned. Most total newbs, like myself, see tubs at Home Depot and Costco for under 4k and quickly realize though research here and other places that it is probably not a wise choice...ie I'd rather pay double on a purchase of this size to know I will be backed and serviced, and hopefully have less trouble with the product...Yugo versus Honda anyone?

The 2nd thing you will find in making this purchase is that purchasing a spa can be a similar experience to purchasing a quality mattress (anyone buy a good mattress lately?)  The asking/invoice price is RARELY and probably NEVER that.

Example:  The 1st HS dealer I went to said the Vista was a $13000 tub all day, and that didn't inlcude steps cover etc.  Though I did not negotiate, the salesman made me believe that there was little room to negoatiate. He quoted me this price AFTER I told him I had done months and months of research on manufacturers, models and prices. I knew that this was way way over what this tub was worth, and was rather insulted that he still quoted me that price after he knew damn well I was an informed consumer. I knew this dealer wasn't for me.

The 2nd HS dealer I went to had a Vista, with invoice price listed on the tub of $10900, and the "sales" price of $8599, including cover, lifter, steps, chems. Now we are talking.