What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: 1st fill up on new Hot Springs Flair  (Read 6204 times)

norcaljeffery312

1st fill up on new Hot Springs Flair
« on: December 23, 2015, 12:18:10 am »
Just had my 1st spa delivered today  :)  I'm brand new to this and could use some friendly advice. I followed a hand out the dealer gave me and filled the tub, put the silver ion cartridge in the filter, added metal gon, and 2 tbsp of MPS. It's now heating. Should I add spa sanitizer 56 (chlorine)  ? It doesn't mention it on the dealers handout but my owners manual mentions it. Also, use test strips and bring ph up or down once water warms? My friend told me not to over think it but I just wanna be sure I'm doing this correctly. Thank you.

Hot Tub Forum

1st fill up on new Hot Springs Flair
« on: December 23, 2015, 12:18:10 am »

av8r

Re: 1st fill up on new Hot Springs Flair
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2015, 06:58:36 am »
I'd fill it, let it get warm and take a water sample to a trusted dealer to test.

Also, buy a Taylor 2006 kit and dump the strips unless you'll have the dealer test your water frequently.

wmccall

• Global Moderator
  • Mentor Level Member
    • https://www.facebook.com/BillMcCall1959/
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2015, 08:02:48 am »
Congrats Jeff, those are always memorable days.    I've never heard of adding MPS before using the tub, not sure why would, but I definitely wouldn't add any sanitizer till after you use the tub since you already have the MPS in.   Don't overthink it is good advise, especially when trying to get the PH right.  Most products that change PH say to wait a period of time before adding more.  I always wait 48 hours after adjusting my PH to see the results. That way you don't end up chasing it up and down.
Member since 2003.  Owner Dynasty Excalibur 2003-2012.   Sundance Majesta from 2012-current

amy2421

« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2015, 08:15:06 am »