What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Newbie no heat after move- hot springs jetsetter  (Read 5477 times)

Hippie

Newbie no heat after move- hot springs jetsetter
« on: December 17, 2012, 04:34:07 am »
Hey all. I am new to hot tubs and I haven't been able to get my first one to heat since we relocated it. It is an '02 Hot Springs Jetsetter with a no-fault 6000,  running 110v. We put it on it's side for transport (about 100 yards) and it may have been that way for half an hour. It was cold out and after another 45 minutes it was hooked up and and as the electrician was leaving he said to get heat into the tub as quick as possible. Having not read the manual (this gifting happened on short notice), I made a few stupid mistakes. The first was filling the tub from the footwell instead of the filter intakes. Second was energizing the tub before it was filled. Third was leaving it to do other chores  while it finished filling instead of checking the control panel. When I returned and shut the water off, I noticed the red power light was blinking, which indicates a high-temp shutdown. Following the owner's manual I killed the power for few minutes to let itself reset. After I turn on the breaker I went back to the tub and had no power. The GFCI on the cord had tripped. When I reset that, it started then tripped the GFCI after 3. seconds, and did this every time afterward. Desperate, I finally pulled the heater leads off of the circuit board, which allowed the circ pump to work without tripping the GFCI, even with the heater leads reconnected.