What's the Best Hot Tub

Hot Tub Review

Sundance
Manufacturer: Sundance Spas

(Based on 4 reviews)
Avg. Price: $5463

Reviews: 1 - 4 of 4   View as Outline Post Review
Just bought it
Oct 30, 2012 8:39 am
admin
*****


After visiting the two local dealers, I felt pretty comfortable with their products and the service that they would provide. I think a lot of people focus mostly on the product but I think equal consideration should be given to the dealership as I have a feeling that buying the hot tub is only the beginning.

So my two choices were Hot Springs and Sundance. I was a bit concerned about reports of leaks and electrical problems that Sundance experienced with hot tubs produced from 94-96 which apparently was due to poor connections and glue. I am told that has been rectified and is no longer an issue.

After I wet tested them Sundance held a slight edge in that the placement of the jets seemed to be thought out better. I really liked the lounger which I have read that most people don't use much after the spa is purchased.

I guess what really sold me is the appearance. The Sundance has beautiful finishes. Unfortunately it costs more but not enough to discourage me. I bought it with the oxidizer and LED lights options (which actually come standard with Hot Springs spas). I didn't get the built in speakers (as I thought I would). When I sat in the hot tub with the jets running I found that there is no bass to the music and the sound quality is actually pretty crummy and not worth the extra $1000.

When it came down to it, I likened it to a choice between a Mercedes and a Volvo. Actually, I hope my spa does much better than the new Mercedes that are coming out but you get the picture.

So now I am anxiously awaiting the arrival of my hot tub with the hope that it performs as well at my home as it did in the showroom and that it has no mechanical problems since I am having a very elaborate enclosure built around it. I really, really hope I didn't make the wrong choice.

I'll update this when I actually get the tub up and running.

Date Purchased: 7/2003
Price Paid: $7700
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
looks nice, can turn on all jets at once,

Cons:
jets are almost too strong


This message was modified Oct 30, 2012 by
Very happy Cameo owner
Oct 30, 2012 8:38 am
admin
*****


I purchased a 2000 floor model, and got a fantastic deal on it. Price was $6150. out the door. This included a CD ozonator, 2nd topside controls, steps, cover, cover lifter, delivery, and start-up chemicals.

It wasn't an impulse buy. I did research for several weeks before purchase. I checked out Hot Springs, Caldera, Cal Spa, and QCA Spa's (home depot). Nothing compared to the Sundance in the way of comfort, appearance, or dealer. The dealer who sold Sundance was great. Very informative, a no BS kind of guy.

I have had a few minor service issues, which have been repaired within 2 days of calling. The first issue was a sticky weir gate door which was replaced immediately. The second issue was the CD ozonator wasn't working, which they replaced the entire unit within 2 days of calling about it. And the third issue was a leaking seal at the pump. This was also repaired in 2 days, to which the service guy said it was because of being a floor model, and having water in it, then draining it and letting it sit for a few weeks with no water.

All in all the service (which I feel is a big part of the purchase price) has been excellent.

Date Purchased: 10-15-2000
Price Paid: $6150
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
Appearance, Comfort, Therapy, Price

Cons:
Sticky spinning jets


This message was modified Oct 30, 2012 by
Sundance Optima
Oct 30, 2012 8:38 am
admin
*****


We just did our first dip in our brand new Optima and couldn't be happier. We researched many companies and apparently it paid off. The only complaints we have are ones that we previously read about; but, the good points far outweigh the bad. The diverters are noisy, but I knew that going in because the manual even mentions the noise due to the fact of such large quantities of water going through them. We did order a remote for the stereo, but can't seem to make it work very well. We are going to check the battery, but we ASSumed a brand new remote should have a good battery in it. Also, the wood steps do not match the synthetic cabinet, but they are still better than the plastic steps which seemed a little flimsy.

One thing I have to mention is the service we received. A considerable amount of our decision to purchase a Sundance produce was based on articles we read concerning servicing. First, our sales rep was very easy to work with and straight forward about things. Secondly, after our electrician hooked the tub up, one of the first things I did was try to play the stereo/CD player. I was extremely dissapointed when it did not work. With only 5 minutes left till closing, I rushed and called our sales rep. Our stereo was fixed by the time I got home from work the very next day.

We also found that many companies really push for the really high powered motors. The motors in the Optima are plenty powerful. Every jet has very strong output, yet you can adjust them. This is important in our family because what my husband finds comfortable actually hurts me.

When the sun goes down, a cool breeze sweeps your face, the stereo is playing smooth jazz, bubbles are massaging your whole body, and the Sunglow light is on in the tub . . . well, what more can I say.

All, in all, we are very pleased with our decision and would recommend to anyone to purchase a Sundance Optima.

Date Purchased: 4/04
Price Paid: $8000
Recommend: Yes
Pros:
Classy Looking
Great Power
Great Stereo
Roomy

Cons:
Yes, diverters still noisy
Remote is useless
Wood Steps don't match cabinet


This message was modified Oct 30, 2012 by
Not comfortable enough
Oct 30, 2012 8:38 am
admin
*****


My wife (who's a little pixie) could not get completely comfortable in any of the seats and neither could my son who's 5'10"/150lbs. The jets in the lounger (under the legs) caused which ever one of us that laid in it to instantly float out of the seat. Overall, this tub was just ok.

Date Purchased: 5/04
Price Paid: $0
Recommend: No
Pros:
Powerful jets
Good jet action

Cons:
Lounger
Didn't fit that well in seats


This message was modified Oct 30, 2012 by
More Information
Help Help
Member List Member List
Moderator List Moderator List
Home    Buying Guide    Featured Products    Forums    Reviews    About    Contact   
Copyright ©1998-2014, Whats The Best, Inc. All rights reserved. Site by Take 42