What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Roto-molded vs Acrylic?  (Read 6040 times)

Cbythesea

Roto-molded vs Acrylic?
« on: August 26, 2016, 07:42:26 pm »
I'm still searching for a small corner spa and now wondering since this is my FIRST venture into "spa world" does anyone have feedback on the roto-molded spas?  Dream maker Fantasy or the AquaRest AR-300 are tubs that are possibilities.  Although I LOVE the Hot Spring TX the dealer in my area is difficult to work with, I've had to leave up to 6 voice mails before I get a return call!  Leaves major concerns that if I bite the bullet and pay $5100 (new quote today) for a tub in a previous years color, although they say it's brand new and never been opened I'll have problems if I ever need service.  Now I'm seeing the Dream maker and/or the AquaRest at 1/2 the price but wondering if I'm just asking for trouble if I start with a roto-molded???  Like I said I'm new to hot tubs/spas PLEASE HELP me with any feedback.  Any do's and don't's would be appreciated.  I hope to soon join your world of relaxing, removing aches and pains and much better sleeping :-)  Thanks so much!

Hot Tub Forum

Roto-molded vs Acrylic?
« on: August 26, 2016, 07:42:26 pm »

The Wizard of Spas

Re: Roto-molded vs Acrylic?
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2016, 10:13:25 am »
You're dealing with apples and oranges here:  Roto-mold spas and acrylic are not very comparable.  I am a dealer who sells both types of spas so I have no agenda other than to point out that (generally speaking) these two tub styles are bringing two different things to the table and should not be compared straight up, per se.

Roto-mold focuses on lower cost and being fairly simple and easy.  There are pros and cons to that.  Acrylic can be simple and easy and low cost but you tend to get more out of them in terms of jets, motor/motor size, features, options, etc. from acrylic spas.  Additionally:  Most Roto-molds are 110v while most acrylics are 220v.