What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Spa Newbie here...  (Read 8880 times)

Ohio45424

Spa Newbie here...
« on: July 12, 2015, 10:16:16 pm »
I will start out by saying I’m rather new spas, only owning one for a couple weeks now. However through this sites search and the help of my local spa company, I feel that I’m on the right track. There is one question that seems to be asked a lot here and I’m going to ask it again, what spa cover should I go with? My local company wants to sell me a cover made by a company called The Cover Company Inc. When I ask them about details and specs of the cover, they can not give me any answers, other than it’s a “good” cover. I see there are two well known cover vendors on this site, both having a good reputation.  As much as I like to buy local, I think I would be better off buying from one of these vendors. I have a couple of basic questions that I would like to get some advice on.
1.   Should a cover have any over hang? If my spa measures 84” X 84”, should I order a cover with some wiggle room?  Example 85” X 85”.
2.   I see a lot of talk on foam density and I’ve read a lot about it. I live in Ohio and we do get snow. Will 1 lbs density be strong enough for weather conditions or should I upgrade to 1.5 lbs or 2 lbs?  If I keep the snow brushed off, does it really matter?
3.   One of the questions I asked my local company is, whats the R value of there cover. They could not give me the answer. I know with house insulation, more is better.  I would think the same goes for covers as well.  What R value should I have here in Ohio?
Thanks for taking the time to read my newbie questions. I appreciate any advise and answers.

Hot Tub Forum

Spa Newbie here...
« on: July 12, 2015, 10:16:16 pm »

wmccall

• Global Moderator
  • Mentor Level Member
    • https://www.facebook.com/BillMcCall1959/
Re: Spa Newbie here...
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2015, 01:59:28 pm »