What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Anyone wired up a J-480 recently?  (Read 2595 times)

watson524

Anyone wired up a J-480 recently?
« on: November 20, 2014, 11:25:07 am »
Hi all,

We're still looking at a few different models. Wondering if anyone has wired up a J-480 for 60a service recently? In looking at the manual, it looks like there's no neutral required at the spa itself. I thought that was strange but I found it confirmed in a few posts. I'm not an electrician but am comfortable running the wires (tho will have an electrician friend visually inspect it) and know a bit about electricity. If there's no neutral, doesn't that mean that everything is running on 220 in the tub? I get that for the 2 main pumps but I would have thought that say the circ pump or the LED lights would run on 110 then the neutral would be needed. Is this not the case?

And if there's no neutral to the tub itself, do you still need a neutral from the house panel out to the spa panel with the 60a GFCI in it? And also the pigtail from the 60a GFCI breaker in the spa panel to the bus bar in the spa panel, is that needed? My gut tells me yes you still want that.

thanks in advance!

Hot Tub Forum

Anyone wired up a J-480 recently?
« on: November 20, 2014, 11:25:07 am »

DaveMc

Re: Anyone wired up a J-480 recently?
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2014, 02:52:06 pm »
Main Servicenpanel to tub-------------- sub panel (spa panel) then to ------------"control panel"---so 3 physical locations!
1. Main Panel to Spa panel 3- #4( gauge is dependent on length) (Ground. Hot. Hot & Neutral)  ground-I used #6 but that is debatable---neutral is required or GFCI won't work.
2. Spa Panel with 60 amp GFCI
3. Spa Pane to Control panel (the pane in the hot tub enclosure)---3-#6---Hot, Hot & Ground-----no neutral--confusing --yes! Why--not needed!