What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: 2006ish Hot Springs Envoy Leak  (Read 3577 times)

dfletcher9527

2006ish Hot Springs Envoy Leak
« on: August 30, 2014, 12:13:49 am »
Hey folks.  I'm a newb and have searched for answers but so far they have eluded me, so here goes...

I have a leak, I'm a "frugal" (aka: cheap) guy who is willing to DIY, but I've never attempted a hot tub repair, so I need a little direction...

I've read that I should fill the tub and observe the water level where it stops leaking.  It's immediately below one particular jet.  Does that mean it's likely that this jet would be the source of the leak somehow?  It happens to be the lowest jet on any of the seats (though there are foot jets and all of the water holds fine in the foot area.

I am certain that nothing is leaking in the easily accessible compartment where the heater and pump are located, it's bone dry.  Visibly, I see water coming from under the front corners of the hot tub, but again NOT from the compartment - several inches to the left and to the right.  The suspect jet is in the back right corner, so it could just be the way the water is running off when it hits the slab underneath.

I'm just not clear on whether the water level thing is a sure fire indicator of where my problem is or not (though it makes sense that something either immediately behind that jet, or in the hose that feeds it would be the problem).

So assuming that's the source, what should my plan of attack be?  Do I set it on jacks and start cutting out foam?  Or is there a possibility that there could be an easier less intrusive solution?  I should mention, the suspect jet is a directional jet, which I've discovered is missing the directional component (gonna have to ask the kids how that happened , and where the missing parts are) but that wouldn't cause it to leak right?